Summer school

The Summer school period means a period that starts on or after 1 November in a year and ends after 1 January, but before 1 March, in the following year.

A provider is able to offer a summer school unit on a fee-paying basis by determining that s36-10 of the Higher Education Support Act 2003 (HESA) applies to the unit. A provider can only do this if the unit starts in the Summer school period and each person undertaking the unit could undertake, or could have undertaken, the unit outside the summer school period (including on a Commonwealth supported basis if eligible (HESA - s36-10(8)).

Refer HESA - s36-10 and Administrative Information for Providers (AIP) - s24.1

Table A providers only: Although domestic undergraduate fee paying places at Table A providers are being phased out, summer schools can remain fee paying.

Application of glossary term:
  • Unit enrolment (HE)